Follow

How to De-Activate, Re-Activate, Disable, and Enable Items

DemandCaster has two types of item visibility statuses relative to if an item is viewed in DemandCaster or hidden. They are:

  1. Activated/Deactivated: A deactivated item is one where it is hidden from all DemandCaster menu's and selections but its history still participates in sales and operations planning. An item that is deactivated will be reactivated if a new customer, purchase, or production order is created. Please note that items that are no longer in the item table upload get automatically deactivated. A user must reactivate if the issue was in error.
  2. Enabled/Disabled: A disabled item is one where it is removed from all selections and calculations.

You may also Delete an item which is to completely remove an item that no longer exists in your ERP. This is covered in the article How to Delete an Old Item in DemandCaster.

The following describes how to apply the changes.

Go to Data Maintenance

  1. Click "Data"
  2. Click "Data Maintenance"

Change Visibility Settings

  1. Search for the item that you would like to change its status
  2. Click on the appropriate radio button to change the visible status of the item. An item with no check box in the radio button is either deactivated or disabled. To reactivate or reenable, simply click on the radio button to add the check mark.
    1. De-activate: This option hides the item from view in reports and selections. It is in a semi-hidden state since its history continues to populate the demand plan history in S&OP so that the historical data continues to match your P&L information. In addition, if a new customer, shop, or purchase order is created in your ERP and populates DemandCaster, the item has the option to automatically re-activate so as not to lose sight of any required actions i.e. ordering. See system settings - other settings for a description of this option.
    2. Disable: This option removes the item from all selections, reports, as well as history. We recommend disabling items only when a full link is created when linking a new item to an old item.

Please note that if S&OP is enabled, after changing the status of the item, the demand plan will automatically be run to edit the history or demand plan per the changes made.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk